Visited the old home place of Aaron Cook, Cleveland County

Earlier in the week I called Carl Cook over at Casar, NC and asked him if he knew where the old home place of Aaron & Edney Cook was. He told me it was just above his house and that he would show me where it was located in its day, but that the old house had burned before his time. Gene & I visited him today and was disappointed to find that Wesley Arron (son of Aaron & Edney, had cleared the property and farmed it after the property burned.  This fire would have to have happened in the early 1900’s between 1903 and 1920.

The property was located on the Wes Cook Road near the creek. If you are going toward Highway 10 from St. Paul Church Road on the Wes Cook Road, it is on your left just before crossing the bridge. It is a little hike deep on that property to where the old house stood. There are no signs of a house at this point.  Below you can see Carl explaining where the old driveway ran down into the property. The house place is just behind him.

This Aaron Cook is my great-great grandfather and he is listed as Aaron Cook, Sr. on the Civil War Records of Cleveland County, NC.  Aaron and Edney Cook Cook sold their property 2 September 1893 to Wesley Aaron Cook, their son with reserve for their use for their natural lifetime.  Wesley paid $110.00 for this 71-1/2 acres.  He purchased adjacent lands later on and farmed them.

Thank you Carl for a wonderful tour and great conversation!  This little trip answered something I had always wanted to know.

Carl Cook -Great Grandson of Aaron Cook

Published in: on January 14, 2013 at 1:34 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://foothillsnc.wordpress.com/2013/01/14/visited-the-old-home-place-of-aaron-cook-cleveland-county/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. AAron Cook Sr. was my great, great. great, grandfather(I think). I would like to know more about our family.

    Christopher Flay Cook

  2. Hi Chris, maybe you go by Flay, not sure. Yes I have some info I can share. It is almost impossible for me to decide what you want to see. I would like to send you what I have on your immediate family, or your father’s family. Could we start there?
    Thanks for looking. I have a lot more to post to the website, but finding time, is not so easy. Will be willing to share, if you will do the same. Dianne


Leave a Reply

