Fall in the South Mountains

This is such a beautiful time of the year in this area. This photo was made in the cemetery of Casar Baptist Church in Casar, NC about 3 years ago while on a genealogy hunt with Gene Parker. Gene was a long time resident of the area. He died in April of this year and I truly miss his being there for me when I needed to find something in the area.  This particular day, I told him I wanted to get a really good picture of the South Mountains, and he said he knew the perfect spot.  He stood there and pointed out each knob and called it by name. I don’t remember them all now, but I had heard of many of them before such as Ben’s Knob, Buzzard’s Roost, Rich Mountain etc.  His wife Mary accompanied us and we had such a wonderful time. I do miss his being there for me when I ran upon question about the area.

Published in: on October 26, 2012 at 1:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://foothillsnc.wordpress.com/2012/10/26/fall-in-the-south-mountains/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

