Hello Fellow Researchers!

This is my first blog.  I started it because I have a lot of things to share about our area and its people.  Foothills covers quite a bit of territory. My main research has been in Lincoln, Cleveland, Rutherford, Catawba and Burke counties.  This does not mean that there won't be any articles on other counties.  So please visit often, and comment whenever you have something to add or something you would like reviewed. My family lines are COOK, LAIL, HOYLE, DAVIS, SMITH, SAIN,and many others.  The more information I find, the more I want.  Genealogy is habit forming, you will always wonder if the person you meet on the street could be connected to your family in some way.  And, if you are like me, you don't mind asking. I love the South Mountains of Burke county. This area is so rich in history.  Parts of it was originally Rutherford County. This is where my Cook ancestor, Edward Cook, came to when he moved into the Foothills from Orange County, NC.  In addition, Benjamin Newton, Alexander Goins and Simon Davis made their homes here in the area. Do you have ties to this area?  Which family do you descend from?  Do you have an interesting photo or story?  I would appreciate your comments. Genealogists live in the past lane. Dianne 

Published in: on June 2, 2006 at 2:35 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://foothillsnc.wordpress.com/2006/06/02/hello-foothills-researchers/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

